Headshot of David Paydarfar.

David Paydarfar, MD


The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, MD

Duke University, BS, Physics


Residency, Neurology, Massachusetts General Hospital

Residency, Physiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Department of Physiology

Care Information

Clinical Biography

David Paydarfar, MD, is a board-certified neurologist and the Interim Director for UT Health Austin’s Mulva Clinic for the Neurosciences. In his role, he is responsible for establishing the initial infrastructure to support premier subspecialty programs in clinical neuroscience, working closely with the chairs of psychiatry, neurosurgery, and others committed to these important ventures. Additionally, Dr. Paydarfar is a professor and serves as the Chair for the Dell Medical School Department of Neurology.

Dr. Paydarfar earned his medical degree from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He completed a residency in neurology at Massachusetts General Hospital and a residency in physiology at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Department of Physiology.

Dr. Paydarfar previously served as Executive Vice Chair of the Department of Neurology at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and as Associate Faculty of the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University. He is also a Fellow of the American Neurological Association and an Investigator of the Clayton Foundation for Research. His current research involves developing novel biosensors, signal-processing algorithms, and user interfaces that will enable clinicians and researchers to track and predict the health of individual patients as well as entire populations. This approach will allows doctors to forecast (and advert) adverse disease trajectories and test the impact of such a strategy on health outcomes.

Board Certification

  • American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology

Awards & Honors

  • David A. Chad Teaching Award, University of Massachusetts Medical School Department of Neurology
  • Fellow, American Neurological Association
Back to Directory