Adewole “Ade” Adamson, MD, MPP

<a href="">Refer a Patient</a>
Appointments: 1-833-UT-CARES (1-833-882-2737)


Harvard Medical School, MD, Medicine

Harvard Kennedy School, MPP, Health Policy


Internship, Internal Medicine, Mount Sinai Hospital

Residency, Dermatology, The University of Texas Southerwestern Medical Center

Biography and Education

Clinical Biography

Adewole “Ade” Adamson, MD, MPP, is a board-certified dermatologist in both UT Health Austin’s Melanoma and Pigmented Lesion Clinic and UT Health Austin’s Dermatology Clinic. He specializes in caring for patients at high risk for melanoma skin cancer, such as those with many moles (particularly atypical moles) or a personal and/or family history of melanoma. Additionally, Dr. Adamson is an assistant professor in the Dell Medical School Department of Internal Medicine (Division of Dermatology).

Dr. Adamson earned his medical degree with honors from Harvard Medical School. He completed an internship in internal medicine at Mount Sinai Hospital and a residency in dermatology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, where he was recognized with awards for his professionalism, leadership, and community service work. While in medical school he spent a year conducting basic science research in immunology at the National Institutes of Health and later earned his master’s in public policy from Harvard Kennedy School, where he was a Zuckerman fellow in the Center for Public Leadership.

Dr. Adamson is an active clinical and health services researcher with a special interest in understanding how to improve the quality of care delivered to dermatology patients, particularly those with melanoma. His research has been supported by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the Dermatology Foundation, Meredith’s Mission for Melanoma, and the Brown Skin Too Foundation. He also hosts a podcast during which he interviews authors of articles published in the medical journal JAMA Dematology with the goal of generating discussions that will help improve patient care and patient outcomes.


  • Melanoma
  • Pigmented lesions
  • Skin cancer

Board Certification

  • American Academy of Dermatology

Awards & Honors

  • Barbara Jordan Health Policy Scholar, Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Outstanding Investigator Award, Dell Medical School Department of Internal Medicine
  • Residency Leadership Award, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Zuckerman Fellowship, Harvard Kennedy School



  • UT Health Austin Clinics
    Health Transformation Building
    1601 Trinity Street, Bldg. A
    Austin, TX 78712
    View On Map

Clinical Research/Studies

Clinical Research/Studies

Dr. Adamson’s research primarily focuses on improving the quality of life of melanoma patients; understanding patterns of healthcare utilization, including overuse and underuse in dermatology; and addressing healthcare disparities in the Austin community and beyond. His research has been generously supported through funding from the American Cancer Society, the Dermatology Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Adamson’s clinic and research work has also received support from the Brown Skin Too Foundation and Meredith’s Mission for Melanoma.


News and Interviews

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Membership Spotlight (February 26, 2021)
    Dr. Adamson discusses his efforts to challenge conventional wisdom in dermatology. Read about it here.
  • MedPage Today (December 16, 2020)
    Dr. Adamson discusses the link between UV exposure and risk of melanoma in people with darker skin types. Read about it here.
  • Carcinomas & Keratoses (November 3, 2020)
    Dr. Adamson discusses racial and ethnic differences in skin cancer prevalence, risk factors, and protective measures. Read about it here.
  • Good Morning America (August 4, 2020)
    Dr. Adamson discusses healthcare inequality with a focus on dermatology. Read about it here.
  • The Verge (January 27, 2020)
    Dr. Adamson discusses artificial intelligence and the potential harms of early cancer detection. Read about it here.
  • The New York Times (July 26, 2019)
    Dr. Adamson discusses sunscreen use among darker skin types. Read about it here.
  • CNN (May 9, 2019)
    Dr. Adamson discusses chemical sunscreen ingredients. Read about it here.



Insurance Accepted

Insurance Accepted

  • AARP Medicare Complete Focus Essential HMO
  • AARP Medicare Complete Focus HMO
  • Accountable Health Plan/Interplan (SPHN)
  • Aetna Medicare Advantage
  • Aetna PPO/HMO (All HMO Plans require a referral)
  • Aetna Seton Health Alliance
  • Aetna Whole Health
  • Ambetter-Superior Health Plan - Exchange Plan
  • Amerigroup/Amerivantage Classic
  • Beech Street PPO (SPHN)
  • Blue Cross Blue Shield Blue Advantage HMO/Health Select (All HMO Plans require a referral)
  • Blue Cross Blue Shield Blue Choice PPO/UT Select
  • Blue Cross Blue Shield Blue Essentials/Blue Essentials Access - Exchange Plan
  • Blue Cross Blue Shield PAR Plan
  • Cigna - All plans
  • Cigna Behavioral Health
  • Coventry (SPHN)
  • Dell Children’s Health Plan STAR/CHIP
  • EHN/WEB TPA - (Whole Foods)
  • First Care Access PPO Network (SPHN)
  • First Health (SPHN)
  • Firstcare HMO (SPHN) (All HMO plans require a referral)
  • Galaxy (SPHN)
  • Health Payors Organization (SPHN)
  • Healthsmart (SPHN)
  • Humana HMOx
  • Humana Medicare Advantage - all plans EXCEPT Humana Medicare Gold Plus. (Primary Care Providers are Out of Network for Humana Gold Plus)
  • Humana PPO/HMO/Choice Care (All HMO Plans require a referral)
  • Integrated Medical Systems PPO (SPHN)
  • Medicaid/TMHP (Medicaid is not accepted in the Walk-In Clinic)
  • Medicare Part B Traditional fee for service (Novitas)
  • Multiplan (SPHN) (PHCS is out of network)
  • Optum
  • Oscar Healthcare (SPHN)
  • Seton Health Plan Smarthealth
  • Sendero IdealCare
  • Superior Health Plan STAR/CHIP/STAR KIDS
  • United Healthcare AARP PPO
  • United Healthcare All Savers/Choice/Choice Plus/PPO/HMO (All HMO Plans require a referral)
  • United Healthcare Community Plan - Medicaid
  • United Healthcare Dual Complete Focus HMO
  • United Healthcare Medicare
  • United Healthcare One
  • United Student Resources PPO (SPHN)
  • USA Managed Care (SPHN)
Back to Directory